bear fruit

I have not always understood the concept of meditating on a verse, but lately, I have been meditating on this verse.

jeremiah17

People who know me know that I like to be in control.  I like to make plans, carry out my plans, on my own, and see results.

But I know that even though God made me this way, it can also be a vice if I fail to ultimately submit myself to Him.  As I’ve been struggling through making decisions as a recent college graduate, I keep going back to this verse.  As I’ve been memorizing it and repeating it back to myself over and over, the last line consistently leaves an impression on me.

“It never fails to bear fruit.”

Jeremiah compares a person who trusts in the Lord to a tree in a time of drought.  The tree is obviously struggling, but yet it continues to BEAR FRUIT.

How often do we I like to wallow in seemingly difficult times, only to become more dejected the longer my pity party lasts?  God’s desire for us is to consistently bear fruit, despite the circumstances, which will not only benefit ourselves, but also bless others.

I commit to focusing on others above myself, to finding ways to solve others’ problems instead of my own, to serving others instead of myself, and to bear fruit for God to enjoy.

Leave a Reply

